Puffy Paint

19 Jun

When I saw this post, (this is really a crafty mom – I just love her blog) I thought:  I really have to try this.  It looks easy.  It looks inexpensive.  I think my children will like it.  and….  it was easy, inexpensive and they just loved it.

All you need is the following:

PUffy paint 1

 

  •              salt
  •              self raising flour
  •              food colouring
  •              water
  •              cardboard
  •              an eager child

 

puffy paint 2

 

        Mix 1 part flour and one part salt (I’ve mixed one tablespoon of flour and salt in each bowl).  Add a few drops of       food colouring.  (I only had yellow and blue).  Add some water to make a smooth paste.  How thicker the paste, the more puff your picture will be.

 

Puffy Paint 3

 

 

  Give the paint and cardboard to the eager child and watch.  My son painted and painted and painted

 

 

 

Puffy paint 4

 

 

  And now for the magic.  Microwave your picture for about 30 seconds on high. 

 

 

 

Puffy Paint 5

 

 

  And WOW….  it’s puffy paint.  Isn’t this just great?

 

 

Let me know if you tried this! 

Enjoy

             handtekening copy

8 Responses to “Puffy Paint”

  1. Rene June 19, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Cool! lyk na iets wat myne sal love! Dankie vir die blog ek sal verseker hier inloer – en ook my idees gee as ek op iets nuuts afkom πŸ™‚

    Lekke Vadersdag hou more

    Rene

    • makecreatedo June 19, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

      Dankie Rene… sien uit na jou kreatiewe idees. veral uit die kombuis.

      geniet vadersdag more

      D

  2. maggsbunny June 19, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Cool blog! And cool puffy paint. Love the puffy paint! Don’t even think I need an eager child, unless you count my eager ‘inner’ child. I can make my own puffy greeting cards πŸ™‚

    • makecreatedo June 19, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

      Maggie, I must admit, I enjoyed the puff painting too. It’s really cool.

  3. Simone June 19, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Cool Done’! Will remember this for when Addy is a bit bigger.

  4. Ally_R June 20, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Done dis so nice! πŸ™‚ Kannie wag om te sien wat alles op jou blog gaan gebeur nie! πŸ™‚

  5. julz June 20, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Done this is fabulous. Wow lots of amazing ideas.

    Thanks

  6. se7en June 20, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Thanks for linking!!! Have a fun week!!!

Leave a Reply

